Welcome to the meeting calendar of the 45th session of the UN Human Rights Council

Please note that meeting details may be subject to change and are updated daily
Back To Schedule
Friday, September 18 • 10:00am - 1:00pm
9th meeting: Urgent debate on situation of human rights in Belarus

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Urgent debate on the human rights situation in Belarus

Confirmed speakers:
  • Ms Michelle Bachelet, United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
  • Ms Anaïs Marin, Special Rapporteur on Belarus (on behalf of the Coordination Committee of Special Procedures, via video message
  • Mrs. Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya ( via video messages)
  • Mrs. Ekaterina Novikava, (via video conference)

[Modalities for participation in the urgent debate: Online inscription in the list of speakers for States, United Nations agencies and international and regional organizations opened on 15 September and will remains open for inscriptions until the evening before the urgent debate is scheduled to start. Afterwards, inscription can still be made by email hrclistofspeakers@ohchr.org or in person, at the list of speakers’ desk in the Assembly Hall. The list will close approximately 15 minutes after the beginning of the debate. Members speak before observers, and dignitaries and groups are moved to the top of each list. NHRIs and NGOs are requested to inscribe online and NGOs are requested to confirm their on-line registration by email ngoconfirmation@ohchr.org. Speaking time is 2.5 minutes for States Members of the Council and 1.5 minutes for all observers. These limits also apply for dignitaries taking the floor during the urgent debate. Please refer to announcements made in the Assembly Hall and through SMS alert.]

avatar for Michelle Bachelet

Michelle Bachelet

United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
avatar for Anaïs Marin

Anaïs Marin

Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Belarus

Friday September 18, 2020 10:00am - 1:00pm CEST
Palais des Nations, Assembly Hall